CogniMary questions and answers
Thirty-nine questions in six groups. Where an answer has a source, the source is linked. Where we do not know, the answer says so.
CogniMary is a two-capsule daily cognitive-support supplement, 60 capsules to a bottle, with a full Supplement Facts panel and an undisclosed 635 mg proprietary blend holding eleven of its fifteen ingredients.
The most common questions are about the blend, the serving, the price and the guarantee. Two of those four have answers on this site; the other two were never published to it.
The label
What is CogniMary?
A dietary supplement in capsule form, sold in the United States by Gocognimary as an authorised CogniMary retailer. The bottle holds 60 capsules, the serving is 2 capsules, and the panel counts 30 servings to a bottle. The front of the label claims “Advanced Cognitive Support For Memory, Focus & Clarity”.
Does CogniMary publish a Supplement Facts panel?
Yes, and that puts it ahead of most of this category. The panel quantifies folate, vitamin B12, magnesium and chromium individually, then puts eleven more ingredients inside a single 635 mg proprietary blend without splitting it.
What is in the 635 mg blend?
Eleven ingredients, in this printed order: cinnamon extract, ginkgo biloba, bilberry, bacopa monnieri, green tea extract, berberine HCl, L-theanine, alpha lipoic acid, GPC choline, lutein and zeaxanthin. The order matters — federal labelling rules require descending order by weight, which is what lets this site work out a ceiling for each one.
How much of each blend ingredient is in a serving?
Not published, and the seller is not required to publish it. What can be worked out is an upper bound for each position in the list, and the 635 mg ceiling page does exactly that.
Why does the panel say 600 µg DFE from 320 µg of folic acid?
That is a good question and we do not know the answer. Under the FDA's conversion guidance, micrograms of dietary folate equivalent are 1.7 times the micrograms of folic acid, so 320 µg of folic acid is 544 µg DFE. The panel prints 600. We publish both numbers and the rule, and leave the discrepancy visible.
What are the other ingredients?
BSE-free gelatin for the capsule, rice flour, silicon dioxide and magnesium stearate. The gelatin capsule means this is not a vegetarian or vegan product, which the label does not say in as many words.
Who makes it?
The panel names Amplify Distribution, LLC of Scottsdale, Arizona as the distributor and prints a phone number for them. It does not name the manufacturer, which is normal for this category and still worth noticing.
What does FYVUS mean?
It is the brand mark printed above the product name on the front of the bottle. Nothing supplied to this website explains it, so we are not going to invent an explanation.
Taking it
How do I take CogniMary?
The label says: take 2 capsules daily, or as needed, or as directed by your health care provider. That is the whole instruction. It does not specify a time of day or whether to take it with food.
What does “or as needed” mean on a daily supplement?
We do not know, and it is an odd phrase to find on a product whose panel is built around 30 daily servings. If you follow the 2-a-day instruction, a bottle lasts 30 days. If you take it “as needed”, the servings-per-container count stops meaning anything.
Should I take it with food?
The label does not say. Taking it with a meal is the conventional choice for a product containing magnesium oxide, which is one of the forms most likely to upset a stomach taken alone.
Morning or evening?
The label does not say. If you are sensitive to green tea catechins, morning is the safer default, but the label does not disclose how much green tea extract is in the blend.
How long does a bottle last?
Thirty days at the label serving. 60 capsules, 2 a day. This is the first thing on this label that can be worked out with certainty, and it is worth saying so.
What if I miss a day?
Take the next serving at the usual time. Do not double up. Nothing on this label has a loading protocol behind it.
How long before I would know whether it works?
The ingredient with the clearest trial evidence on this label needed twelve weeks of daily dosing before its effect showed. Judge it at a month, decide at six weeks, and read the guarantee term on the listing before you start counting.
Can I take it with my other supplements?
Check the magnesium first. 250 mg from this product plus magnesium in a multivitamin or a separate magnesium supplement can pass the 350 mg supplemental upper intake level, and the usual result is loose stools.
Evidence
Is there evidence any of this improves memory?
For some ingredients there is real literature; for others there is none in humans at all. The largest ginkgo trial ever run found no effect on cognitive decline. The cognition arm of AREDS2 found nothing for lutein and zeaxanthin. Bacopa's meta-analysis found a real but narrow effect on speed of attention. GPC choline has one recent positive trial. All of it is on the ingredients page with the citations.
Do folate, B12, magnesium or chromium improve cognition?
In people who are not deficient, the systematic reviews say no. Cochrane found no benefit from folic acid with or without B12. A 2021 meta-analysis concluded B12 supplementation is likely ineffective for cognition without an underlying deficiency. A 2024 review found the magnesium trials too few to conclude anything. Chromium has one small trial whose primary outcome was null.
So why are they in here at 150%, 10,000%, 60% and 343% of the Daily Value?
We cannot answer for the formulator. What we can say is that a high percentage of a Daily Value is a statement about a reference figure, not about an effect, and that correcting a deficiency you do not have is not a mechanism.
Is 10,000% of the Daily Value of B12 dangerous?
No upper limit has been set for B12, because the Food and Nutrition Board found its potential for toxicity low. That is not the same as a demonstration of benefit at that dose. It means no adverse-effect threshold has been identified.
Is magnesium oxide a bad choice?
It is the cheapest common magnesium salt and the least well absorbed of the common ones. NIH's own fact sheet says citrate, chloride, lactate and aspartate are absorbed more completely than oxide, and three published comparisons back that up. The widely repeated “only 4% absorbed” figure is not something we could verify, so we do not repeat it.
What is a proprietary blend for?
Officially, to protect a formula from being copied. Practically, it also means a buyer cannot check whether any single ingredient is present at a dose that has ever been tested. Both things are true at once, and the proprietary blends page covers it.
Buying and delivery
How much does CogniMary cost?
No price was published to this website for any pack. The figure is on the checkout page. Every pack card on this site says so rather than showing a number we do not have.
Where should I buy it?
Through the official checkout from this site. Gocognimary is the authorised US retailer, and an order placed anywhere else is an order the seller cannot find when you need the guarantee.
How long is the guarantee?
The brief we were given says “as printed on the marketplace listing” and gives no number of days. So this site does not state one. Read the term on the listing before you pay and keep the order email.
What does shipping cost?
Not published here. It is calculated for your address at checkout, along with sales tax.
Where does it ship from?
The United States, unless the sales page says otherwise. Tracking arrives in the order email.
Which phone number should I call?
For an order, tracking, a change or a refund, call +1 (302) 200-3480, Monday to Friday, 9:00am to 5:00pm Eastern Time. The number printed on the bottle, +1 (623) 377-4609, belongs to the distributor named on the panel and is a different desk.
What is the lot number for?
Matching a bottle to an order. The reference supplied to this site is COG-26/GO-2760. Check the base of your own bottle and quote what is printed there rather than what is printed here.
Is there a certificate of analysis?
A reference number was supplied, COG-2760-26-GO. No certificate document was supplied, so this site publishes the reference as a reference and does not describe it as lab proof.
Safety
Who should not take this?
The label says do not use if you are pregnant or nursing, and to keep it out of reach of children. It is for adults 18 and over. Beyond the label, ginkgo, berberine and green tea extract all have well-known interaction profiles worth raising with a clinician.
Can I take it with prescription medication?
Ask a clinician, and bring the panel with you. Ginkgo is commonly flagged with anticoagulants and antiplatelets. Berberine interacts with a range of medicines. This is not a formula to add quietly on top of a medication list.
Are there side effects?
None are published for this product, and that absence is not evidence. The predictable one from the panel is digestive: magnesium oxide at 250 mg is a common cause of loose stools.
Is it vegetarian?
No. The capsule is gelatin. The label says BSE-free gelatin, which speaks to sourcing rather than to diet.
Does it contain caffeine?
Green tea extract is on the panel and the amount is not disclosed. A catechin extract is not the same as brewed tea and may carry little caffeine, but the label does not say, so neither will we.
This website
Who writes this site?
The CogniMary Editorial Desk, for Gocognimary, the authorised US retailer. It is the retailer's own site. It is not independent, and the way we deal with that is to publish the label exactly and show our arithmetic.
Why does the site criticise the product it sells?
Because the alternative is to publish things we cannot support. A buyer who reads the ceiling page and buys anyway has made a decision. A buyer who is sold on a number nobody published has not.
Are the reviews on this site real?
We do not publish any as verified customer reviews. The seller's figures are published as the seller's figures, and the reviews page shows why: five of the eight supplied quotes are word for word identical.
How do I report a mistake on this site?
Email [email protected]. Corrections get made and the date at the top of the page moves.
Still not answered?
- Order, tracking, changes, refunds
- +1 (302) 200-3480 — Monday to Friday, 9:00am to 5:00pm Eastern Time
- Anything about this website
- [email protected]
- The number printed on the bottle
- +1 (623) 377-4609 — Amplify Distribution, LLC, a different desk
If your question is not here, it is worth asking. Order questions go to the desk on +1 (302) 200-3480; questions about this website, including corrections, go to [email protected].
The three questions we are asked most often and cannot answer are the split of the blend, the price, and the length of the guarantee. We do not have the first, and the other two are on the checkout page rather than here.
Contact the right desk →How this site is written →The one question we did answer →
Order CogniMary from the official website
Sixty capsules, thirty days, and a panel you can read before you buy. Start with one bottle so you can see the price and the guarantee term before you commit to six.
No price was published to this website. The figure is on the checkout page.
References
Every source below was opened and read. Nothing on this site cites a study we did not read, and no identifier here was written from memory.
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationDaily Value on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels — FDA.gov · source
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationConverting Units of Measure for Folate, Niacin, and Vitamin E on the Nutrition and Supplement Facts Labels: Guidance for Industry — FDA.gov · source
- U.S. Government Publishing Office21 CFR 101.36 — Nutrition labeling of dietary supplements — eCFR.gov · source
- NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsFolate — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
- NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsVitamin B12 — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
- NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsMagnesium — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
- NIH Office of Dietary SupplementsChromium — Health Professional Fact Sheet — ods.od.nih.gov · source
- Lindberg, Zobitz, Poindexter & Pak — 1990Magnesium bioavailability from magnesium citrate and magnesium oxide — Journal of the American College of Nutrition · PMID 2407766 · source
- Walker, Marakis, Christie & Byng — 2003Mg citrate found more bioavailable than other Mg preparations in a randomised, double-blind study — Magnesium Research · PMID 14596323 · source
- Kappeler, Heimbeck, Herpich et al. — 2017Higher bioavailability of magnesium citrate as compared to magnesium oxide — BMC Nutrition · DOI 10.1186/s40795-016-0121-3 · source
- Malouf, Grimley Evans & Areosa Sastre — 2003Folic acid with or without vitamin B12 for cognition and dementia — Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · CD004514 · source
- Markun, Gravestock, Jäger et al. — 2021Effects of Vitamin B12 Supplementation on Cognitive Function, Depressive Symptoms, and Fatigue: A Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis, and Meta-Regression — Nutrients · DOI 10.3390/nu13030923 · source
- Chen et al. — 2024Magnesium and Cognitive Health in Adults: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis — Advances in Nutrition · PMC11362647 · source
- Snitz, O'Meara, Carlson et al. — 2009Ginkgo biloba for Preventing Cognitive Decline in Older Adults: A Randomized Trial — JAMA · PMID 20040554 · source
- Birks & Grimley Evans — 2009Ginkgo biloba for cognitive impairment and dementia — Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · CD003120.pub3 · source
- Kongkeaw, Dilokthornsakul, Thanarangsarit et al. — 2014Meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials on cognitive effects of Bacopa monnieri extract — Journal of Ethnopharmacology · PMID 24252493 · source
- Higashiyama, Htay, Ozeki et al. — 2011Effects of l-theanine on attention and reaction time response — Journal of Functional Foods · DOI 10.1016/j.jff.2011.03.009 · source
- Klugman, Sauer, Tabet & Howard — 2004Alpha lipoic acid for dementia — Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews · CD004244.pub2 · source
- Fiorentini, Cantatore, Ferrari et al. — 2023Cognitive and Mood Effect of Alpha-Lipoic Acid Supplementation in a Nonclinical Elder Sample: An Open-Label Pilot Study — International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health · PMID 36767724 · source
- Lee, Kim, Park et al. — 2024Efficacy and safety of choline alphoscerate for amnestic mild cognitive impairment: a randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial — BMC Geriatrics · PMID 39300341 · source
- European Food Safety Authority — 2018Scientific opinion on the safety of green tea catechins — EFSA Journal · DOI 10.2903/j.efsa.2018.5239 · source
- Alzheimer's Drug Discovery FoundationBerberine — Cognitive Vitality For Researchers — alzdiscovery.org · source
- Ranasinghe et al. — 2025Effects of Cinnamomum zeylanicum extract on lipid profile, glucose levels and its safety in adults: a randomized, double-blind, controlled trial — PLOS ONE · DOI 10.1371/journal.pone.0317904 · source
- Chu, Cheung, Lau & BenzieBilberry (Vaccinium myrtillus L.), in Herbal Medicine: Biomolecular and Clinical Aspects — NCBI Bookshelf · NBK92770 · source
- Chew, Clemons, Agrón et al. — 2015Effect of Omega-3 Fatty Acids, Lutein/Zeaxanthin, or Other Nutrient Supplementation on Cognitive Function: The AREDS2 Randomized Clinical Trial — JAMA · PMID 26305649 · source
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationFDA Calls on Certain Firms to Stop Producing and Issuing Misleading ‘FDA Registration Certificates’ — FDA.gov · source
- U.S. Food and Drug AdministrationQuestions and Answers on Dietary Supplements — FDA.gov · source